Emergency Management

Borough Municipal Coordinators

Borough Coordinator
Big Run
Brockway Kevin D. Ellenberger
Brookville Todd Gumpher
Corsica Ken Anthony, Jr.
Falls Creek
Punxsutawney Charles Hoeh
Timblin Kenneth Danser
Worthville Lowell Young
Emergency Management is a legal responsibility and function of local, county, state and federal government.
Over the past two decades, federal and state laws were amended to include natural, technological and man-made disaster mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery programs.  National attention to emergency management began in the early 1950s with emphasis on civil defense or enemy attack preparedness.
Pennsylvania’s Emergency Management Services Code (35 Pa. C. S. Section 7101-7707) became law in 1978 and replaced the State Council of Civil Defense Act of 1951. The 1978 Act consolidated existing state laws and updated the role of emergency management within the Commonwealth. Amendments to this Act in 1988 and 1989 further focused the role of emergency management personnel, organizations and responsibilities.
This state law requires that every county and municipal government develop and maintain an emergency management program consistent with the state and federal emergency management program.
An emergency management coordinator who is appointed by the Governor based upon the recommendation of the county or municipal elected officials administers each county and municipal program. The coordinator is an employee of the county or municipality and is responsible for implementing the program.

Township Municipal Coordinators

Township Coordinator
Barnett Abbott Reid
Beaver Ronald Young, Acting
Bell Mary Lee Heitzenrater
Clover Greg D. Nolf, Jr.
Eldred Todd Gumpher
Heath Daniel Leonard
Henderson Todd Peace
McCalmont Donald Byerly
Oliver Dale E.Anthony
Perry Ronald D. Humble
Pine Creek Donald Pangallo
Polk James J. Manno, Jr.
Porter Dennis Stear
Ringgold Christopher Reed
Rose Matthew McCracken
Snyder Terry Fustine
Union Robert M. Finnefrock
Warsaw Deb Wilson
Washington Robert Hrin
Young Paul Hense